THE SNOW-MAGGEDON OF 2017

It would appear we have survived another major Nor’easter, and that life can now resume as it once was operating.  Well, besides some school districts, local and state governments being closed or opening up late, we can all rest a sure that life will not end with several inches of snow on the ground.  However, it can get very hairy when you are ready to pass through an intersection or turn corners when you have a snow hill higher than your car or truck, making it extremely difficult to see.  As with normal driving you make sure you take your time and don’t rush out without checking or you will be regretful.

When you have snow, or with any inclement weather that puts traveling on roads treacherous or at risk, again you need to take your time.  Especially when you are turning corners and going down hills, if you accelerate to fast more than likely you will fishtail and possibly do a 360 in the middle of the road.  Now, this is not new information on how to drive in snow, rain and/or icy road conditions, but apparently some individuals have not gained these safety tips.  What makes me nervous when I am taking my time and trying not go too fast and too slow, when you have impatient drivers who want to tailgate you or do mach 2 when the roads are obviously extremely slick.

I completely understand that some people will drive to what speed is comfortable and safe for them, but you also have to balance that with being safe and not a nuisance.  As we should know climbing hills we have to increase our speed a little in order to make it up and lower the chance of getting stuck, spinning tires.  Of course, some people still have on summer tires, which will get you nowhere and just build frustrations while others just need new tires, or better yet the roads are that bad that almost no kind of traction will help you.  Anyway you look at it the most important safety tip is to slow down and allow more time for travel and more spaces between you and the other car.  Any experience driver knows and understands how scary it is when you are sliding out of control and the only thing you can do is go for the ride.

This was probably one of the biggest snow storms I can remember being in since 1996 when I lived in Maryland, and school was closed for a solid week.  I’m sure I’ve been through other storms that was as big, if not bigger, but a snow storm like this remind me of the ’96 storm.  Every since that storm, it seems like the state of Maryland is still recovering from it and has made sure they stay on top of every impending storm that could threaten the D.C. Metro area.  Living in the mid-Atlantic region snow is not usually our main weather problem, it is freezing rain and sleet.  You would think that if you have lived there all your life, or even for a significant amount of time, you would know how to operate and drive in those conditions.  Some people just don’t learn and think that because they drive a 4×4 or an AWD that they can drive faster than what is safely necessary.

You live in the northeast part of the country, you have to know that winter weather up here can get nasty at anytime and that the winter season can last longer than other parts of the country.  It gets cold here.  It gets icy and roads can be very treacherous.  One of the things you have to deal with living here in the region.  I do know one thing that the summers here are much cooler and less humid than those of the mid-Atlantic and southeast regions of the United States.  Although I enjoyed myself in Georgia, and did basic training in Alabama, the summers there are notorious for my migraines and life there is too slow for me.  Besides, living anywhere that has a very high humidity percentage will not only be detrimental for my migraines to blow up, but my wife’s lupus would just work overtime.  One of the reasons we moved up here to the northeast region, but the move to a cooler climate has definitely limited her lupus flare ups; not to mention she is from this area anyway.

With the biggest snowstorm of the season in and out, we can start to prepare of spring, but remember cold weather sticks around longer here.  I don’t mind the cold weather and the snow, just hate the heat and the humidity that was horrid down there.  As another winter season comes to a close, people will now start planning, if not already, for the upcoming spring and summer season which could be brutal as this winter was but time will tell on that theory.

Henry Scott

 

 

 

 

Author: franklinsfireplace

Hello! Just to give you some information about myself, I love to write especially fictional stories, but occasionally you will see real life stories posted on the blog site. My personality is of someone who can pretty much get along with anyone, regardless of background, opinionated and respects others opinions and is still a kid at heart. I am currently enrolled in school at Empire State College and employed as a deputy sheriff in Bennington County, Vermont. I am originally from the Washington, D.C. area, where I lived for over thirty years, and worked as a university police officer in College Park, Maryland. In October 2006 I finished my military obligation, 8 1/2 years, in the Maryland Army National Guard with the 290th Military Police Company, with tours in Panama, Germany, Operation Noble Eagle (Pentagon, Ft. Stewart, GA and Ft. Myer, VA) and Operation Enduring Freedom (K2 & OMC-Alpha in Kabul). I've been married for nearly ten years now, with no kids, and three four legged kids (one dog and two cats). I currently live in the Capital District Area (upstate NY) and been here for over three years now. I don't miss my old home, Maryland, but I do miss the people I used to work with and some of my family.